We’re immensely proud that several of our Academy students have gone on to become radio award winners!

The Erewash Sound team have celebrated success at Community Radio Awards (CRAs) ceremonies in 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021 and hoping for more successes at the 2022 event.

All presenters who picked up awards had their skills triggered and/or developed further at the Erewash Sound Academy.

Erewash Sound's award winners, Mark Jarvis, Emma Snow and Jeannie Nicholas
Erewash Sound award winners, (L to R) Mark Jarvis, Emma Snow and Jeannie Nicholas


Mark gained his first experience in radio after training with Erewash Sound Academy in 2016, going on to present regular shows on the Erewash Sound schedule. 

Mark earned a Gold Newcomer Award at the 2017 Community Radio Awards and a Gold Male Presenter Award in 2018.

Mark has since presented for Aspen Waite Radio, as well as working in the film and television industry


Following her time with the Erewash Sound Academy, Emma has hosted regular shows for Erewash Sound alongside student station Fly FM in Nottingham. 

Emma won a Silver Female Presenter Award and Bronze Entertainment Show Award at the 2018 Community Radio Awards

There was more success for Emma in 2019 when she picked up Gold as Under-25 Young Person of the Year.  

Emma now works as a Digital Journalist for BBC Radio Derby


Jeannie was new to radio when she trained with the Erewash Sound Academy and went on to be the regular presenter of the Thursday Afternoon Show but has since gone on to take up other slots across the schedule.

Jeannie was winner of a Gold Young Person of the Year (Under 25) Award at the 2018 Community Radio Awards.


Lewis joined the Erewash Sound team in 2018, originally as a Summer cover presenter as other team-members took their holidays, but never really left when the Summer was over! 

In 2019, Lewis was awarded the Bronze award for Best Newcomer at the national Community Radio Awards – something which he still says he can’t believe to this day! 

In 2021, Lewis was awarded Gold for Young Person Of The Year at the Community Radio Awards.

Lewis now presents Erewash Sound Drive, as well as working as a freelancer for clients such as BBC Radio 4, the BBC World Service and the University of Derby.


Tom joined the Erewash Sound team in October 2018 and went on to cover a whole variety of different shows, as well as offering his support with behind the scenes bits and pieces too. He is now a regular on the weekday daytime schedule having also presented The 90s Show.

At the 2020 Community Radio Awards, Tom picked up Bronze in the Male Presenter of the Year category.


Amelia joined the station in 2018, initially for a week’s work experience, but she never really left! She continued to complete her Presenter Training and the Level 2 NCFE Create A Radio Show courses at the Erewash Sound Academy.

She was then supported by the Erewash Sound team to present shows such as We Are Young, and in 2021, won Silver for Best Newcomer at the national Community Radio Awards.

As well presenting on Erewash Sound, Amelia works as a Broadcast Assistant for BBC Radio Derby.

Could YOU be our next award winner with the Erewash Sound Academy?