Erewash Sound scoops 4 Community Radio Awards from 6 nominations

Following on from the success of last year, Erewash Sound has taken four awards from six nominations in five categories at this years national Community Radio Awards which were held in Sheffield on Saturday 15th September.  In 2017, the station received four nominations.

The night began with Jeannie Nicolas – who has only been in radio and with the radio station over the last 12 months – missed out in the Best Newcomer category but picked up Gold as Young Presenter of the Year.

Jeannie, who was almost lost for words upon being announced as the winner of the gold award, later took to social media and said: “Words cannot describe how happy/shocked/gobsmacked I am!  Absolutely adore my radio family and I couldn’t have done it without them.”

Within a matter of minutes, Emma Snow, a 2017 nominee, picked up Silver for Entertainment Show then Bronze for Female Presenter.  Again on social media, Emma said: Literally cannot believe it.  This year the competition was so tough,  I was up against people much older and more experienced than me and I can’t stop smiling (and crying). This means so so much to me “.

Success continued when 2017 award winner Mark Jarvis collected a 2018 Gold for Male Presenter of the Year and, later, used his social media presence to say: “A big thank you for all the support and to the Community Radio Awards. Can’t tell you how grateful I am”.

All three are former students of the Erewash Sound Academy which gave them relevant training in radio presentation and production – none of them had any previous radio experience before joining the Academy.

Prior to the awards, Station Manager Jeff Martin said: “We are delighted to have more nominations this year and I am really proud of Emma, Jeannie and Mark.  We have a first class presentation team here at Erewash Sound and to get this recognition is really good for the whole team.” and upon watching the three pick up their awards, said that he was “so proud to be a part of the award winning Erewash Sound team.”